Maximum horizontal distance competition

This forum is for non-members to ask questions about our competitions. Please check our FAQ page before you ask.
Avnish

Maximum horizontal distance competition

Post by Avnish »

I have recently enrolled myself in a water rocket competition scheduled to be held on 21 March! 2014.

This is my first time I am taking part in a water rocket event. The rules state that
1). The water rockets must travel the maximum horizontal distance. 1 out of 2 tries will be considered and the farthest will win.

2). The rockets must have a soft and crushable cone.

3). Pressure will be 70psi

4). Bottle size 1.5l

I've built a cable tie launcher tube based launcher seeing from the internet. But I have no idea about the nosecone( ivory sheet cones?). Also, how much amount of water should I use.

And angled at 45°? (idk)

Looking forward to your help guys :)
Water Rocket Expert
WRA2 Member
WRA2 Member

Re: Maximum horizontal distance competition

Post by Water Rocket Expert »

Hello here from Maryland, where it never seems to stop being cold.

First off, you said you build a cable-tie launcher, correct? Have you test fired a bottle to make sure it worked right. Sometimes adjustments are needed in the height of the cable-ties and sometimes the Scrhader or Presta valves are leaking at the glue.

Second, I would use part of a foam foot ball for the nose cone. They are pretty common and cheap so cutting it up isn't going to be that much of a waste. Or you could try some kind of foam from a box but the foot ball is the better option.

I have a question. Is this competition like a big one or something because they need to purchase a good altimeter. That would do better for competitions. Ballistic isn't that cool.

Team S.P.W.R.
Water Rocket Expert
I'm 20
Maryland
"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new." -Albert Einstein
bugwubber
WRA2 Member
WRA2 Member

Post by bugwubber »