Hi! Another newbie from Belgium (with some important questions)

This forum is for new members to introduce themselves and tell us how they got started in water rocketry.
anoymous

Hi! Another newbie from Belgium (with some important questions)

Post by anoymous »

Hi, I am a belgian student of the sixth year secondary school and I study sciences and mathematics.
We need to do a research about physics, geography, biology or chimics. Our group will do research about waterrockets: What's the ideal water/air ratio, what's the best kind of wings and noses,...
currently, we are searching for a system to attach the wings to different diameters of rockets and for a way to fit different noses to the different bottles. If anyone has suggestions about how doing this, please comment.
Also, currently, as a parachute deployment system, we have tried the normal NOAA method, but the nose gets pressed tight on the rocket and won't come off. Now I am thinking on a chimical methode with vinegar and sodium carbonate (baking powder) in a film canister with a balloon attached. the balloon will inflate and so puch the nose of the rocket to set free the parachute. As a parachute, we use a sort of pilot chute. Why doesn't anyone else use this kind of parachute? It's ropes can't tangle, so it's more reliable.
"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former."
- Albert Einstein

Sorry for malconstructions in my sentences, I am Belgian. And I was never good at making easy sentences.
anoymous

Re: Hi! Another newbie from Belgium (with some important questions)

Post by anoymous »

Could the deploy system work? Maybe a little bit more info: the vinegar is in a little cup in the canister, the baking powder is loose in the canister. At apogee the vinegar makes contact with the baking powder and the balloon inflates.
"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former."
- Albert Einstein