First water rocket construction log

Discussions about rockets, construction materials, adhesives, nozzles, nosecones and fin design.
mazuzuri
WRA2 Member
WRA2 Member

First water rocket construction log

Post by mazuzuri »

Hey

This is a small log i am making to detail my first attempt at a water rocket.
As i am new to making water rockets, not launching them as i have launched plenty,
the main idea behind it is to allow people to follow my progress, and hopefully give a few useful tips and pointers on how to improve my methods.

Today i started building my rocket and i have used most of the day assembling the core of the rocket, that is to say the main body.
The method used for assembling the bottles is taken from USWR's website, were i cut the end of the bottles and fitted them together.
Ekstra reinforcement comes from 2 windings of ducttape around each splice as well as around the middle of the 2 end bottles.

Entire main body
http://i58.tinypic.com/nbx284.jpg

Near the neck area of the bottles there is a fairly significant narrowing meant for better gripping when pouring.
During pressure testing of a single unmodified bottle this area expanded out a lot, but still held at almost 50% higher pressure than i am planning to launch these first baby steps with.
Needless to say i have decided to reinforce the areas to try and prevent expansion. To do this i took some fishing line and wound around, ontop of this i applied a coating of 2 part epoxy resin.

Grip reinforcement
http://i61.tinypic.com/2qs7ztf.jpg

This is about as far as i got on the first day of building, which is still around 8 hours dedicated work.
Before i continue building my rocket and adding fins, i will be pressure testing in a few days, once the splices have been allowed to fully set.
After confirming strength, or getting nice and wet, i will finish up the rocket and add the payload compartment, and nosecone.

While the rocket is setting i will begin constructing the launch ramp.