What glue

Discussions about rockets, construction materials, adhesives, nozzles, nosecones and fin design.
andy_R

What glue

Post by andy_R »

Noob here, asking noob questions!

I've been looking at different ways of conecting a couple of 2l pop bottles together - tried using an 8mm compression fitting from B&Q and silicon sealant, but the results were never satisfactory. I've seen videos and posts about slip jointing 2 bottles but they always mention PL premium which isn't readily available here in the UK. What glues do you folks (specifically here in the UK) use instead for realiable results?
Blenderite
WRA2 Member
WRA2 Member

Re: What glue

Post by Blenderite »

-Blenderite

Check out my YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/Blenderite

"Get it right, then go for GREATNESS!"
lowerstoford
WRA2 Member
WRA2 Member

Post by lowerstoford »

Hi, we are in the uk and have been though many glue options.
we have now found a glue that works very well, but does involve careful application to create a even covering.
I know many have tried and failed to use this glue and i am not sure why???
I made some 2 x 2l splices on Saturday night and launched 3 set joined with tornado tubes on Monday evening. 6 foot rocket. Crash landing but flew 3 more times, splices survived without any problems.
We have used this glue to splice for many rocket and have had very little failure.

I will post a how to use, if people feel it would be useful.
I am going to make more 2 x2l splices this evening.
I am also going to attempt 3 x 2l and 4 x 2l

You will get some failures from this glue as its all down to the application

The glue is Gorilla Glue
LSD

Yes, I Am a Rocket Scientist.
andy_R

Post by andy_R »

lowerstoford wrote:Hi, we are in the uk and have been though many glue options.
we have now found a glue that works very well, but does involve careful application to create a even covering.
I know many have tried and failed to use this glue and i am not sure why???