dual servo ideas

Discussions about rockets, construction materials, adhesives, nozzles, nosecones and fin design.
rumnass
WRA2 Member
WRA2 Member

dual servo ideas

Post by rumnass »

Maybe this is a question only aimed at us water rockets but here it goes.
I am very new to this water rocketry game,but having a look at the new launch pad technology I am impressed.

so with the dual servo timer parachute deployment, will it be possible to launch a water rocket and deploy wings at or near after apogee
and then deploy a parachute or flaps or what ever to slow it down to land.
if so has any one done anything similar or could you so me where to look.

one reason I am asking that I recently made my first water rocket with my 8 yr old son, with a lack of any good rubber bands (only loom bands) to make a parachute system.
I had decided that a good way to bring the rocket down safely was to have wings to make it glide down, I defiantly over cooked the psi at about 100psi. All we saw was a mass of plastic and duck tape floating back down to earth luckily the nose cone was ok ish and on site repair meant we could at least launch a lawn dart without spike.

Kev.
Jamie5335
WRA2 Member
WRA2 Member

Re: dual servo ideas

Post by Jamie5335 »

Hi rumnass,

I had a brief idea for adding glide wings to a water rocket. Using a water rocket electronic timer or tomy timer, as soon as the rocket reaches apogee a servo releases a clip, which allows two springs to deploy a set of corroflute wings. The wings would be folded during launch and flight. Only at apogee would the servo activate and the springs 'pull' the wings into position. A simple locking mechanism could then be used to stop the wings flexing during glide-time.

Another project idea...

Cheers, Jamie B.
JSB Rocketry
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCczlD-uBjlYdJyBFEfuCEbg/feed

Jamie Bignell,
jamie.s.bignell@gmail.com
Somerset UK

"The important thing is to know how to take all things quietly" -Michael Faraday.