Hello from Tulsa Oklahoma

This forum is for new members to introduce themselves and tell us how they got started in water rocketry.
Andrewlee
WRA2 Member
WRA2 Member

Hello from Tulsa Oklahoma

Post by Andrewlee »

Hey there,
My name is Andrew (Jason, you'll see me go by both) Harwood. I am from Tulsa, Ok USA. I have been building water rockets/water jets now for 11 years. My unofficial personal height record is just short of 1100 feet. But that rocket has long since bit the dust (blew up on the stand at 115 PSI, there was a crick in the plastic, and it ruptured there).
My goal is to eventually build a water rocket that has the ability to reach heights of 5280 feet. As of now I intend to do this using a 3 stage system. But, that is still a fair number years away from me.
I am currently in college seeking a double major in History and Aviation, with a minor in meteorology. I eventually plan to finish, and get an Aeronautical Engineering degree while I work on my PHD in History.
Between the violin, motorcycles, Sailing, Backpacking, and college, this is one of my favorite hobbies.

Nice to meet you All
The Rocket Man
-Andrew Lee Harwood
"Speak softly, but carry a big stick"
-Andrew Lee

http://thruststormrockets.blogspot.com/
rockets-in-brighton

Re: Hello from Tulsa Oklahoma

Post by rockets-in-brighton »

Welcome to the forum, Andrew! I can't fault your ambition, and we all look forward to seeing your ideas.

There are some interesting discussions going on at the moment, about high performance rockets and very ambitious height targets - including the world record holders and what we are assuming is a shot at 3000 feet.
Cheers
Steve
Rockets-in-Brighton
WEB: http://groups.google.co.uk/group/rockets-in-brighton
WRA2
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by WRA2 »

Andrewlee wrote:Hey there,