Why no height record for class C?

Discussions about rockets, construction materials, adhesives, nozzles, nosecones and fin design.
nspman327

Why no height record for class C?

Post by nspman327 »

I am new to record attempts, and have been launching both water rockets (and air cannon projectiles, as I have recently found) for about a year and a half. No on board cameras, and only marginally successful parachute recovery systems.

I would like to know what height to shoot for, as the total time aloft seems to be entirely dependant on the recovery system. The rocket bodies I use are generally 20 or 24 ounce plastic soda bottles. I have been calculating height by using an inclinometer and math.

Without a reliable recovery system, my rockets come down as fast as they go up, and have a total elapsed flight time of around 8.5 to 9 seconds. Unoccupied soccer fields and launching upwind of the recovery area have been necessary. Nearly 100 meters to apogee, by my calculations.

Can I have some guidance?
WRA2
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Why no height record for class C?

Post by WRA2 »

nspman327 wrote:I am new to record attempts, and have been launching both water rockets (and air cannon projectiles, as I have recently found) for about a year and a half. No on board cameras, and only marginally successful parachute recovery systems.

I would like to know what height to shoot for, as the total time aloft seems to be entirely dependant on the recovery system. The rocket bodies I use are generally 20 or 24 ounce plastic soda bottles. I have been calculating height by using an inclinometer and math.

Without a reliable recovery system, my rockets come down as fast as they go up, and have a total elapsed flight time of around 8.5 to 9 seconds. Unoccupied soccer fields and launching upwind of the recovery area have been necessary. Nearly 100 meters to apogee, by my calculations.

Can I have some guidance?